Virtual Angel Tree

At John Wesley United Methodist Church 


Angel Tree Ministry 

Denise Fitzgerald, Coordinator 


Core Committee Members

Lucille Smith, Hilda James, Beatrice Thomas-Ward, Camilla Williams


Rev. Joan E. Carter-Rimbach, Pastor

Children in our community are counting on us to make Angel Tree® possible! This year has been unprecedented due to the pandemic, will you help connect children with their incarcerated parents and show them the love of Christ? It starts with a simple Christmas gift. Reach out to Denise Fitzgerald, Angel Tree Coordinator at 410-591-5154 to get started. The deadline is December 9, 2020.

Thank you for connecting children with their incarcerated parents through Virtual Angel Tree™! Here is your link to get started: VIRTUAL ANGEL TREE LINK. Your access code is BZSCH. After entering the code, you will see virtual tags with the names of children assigned to John Wesley. Just browse through the tags, select the child(ren) you want to sponsor, and click checkout! With just a few clicks, you can show a prisoner’s child the love of Jesus—the greatest Gift of all.

This year each child will receive a gift card from Walmart. They will receive a Christmas greeting from their incarcerated parent, a postcard to receive one Youth Bible for the household, and a Gospel message “Will You Accept God’s Gift by Trusting Jesus?” and more.

New this year you will be able to select a gift card for the care giver (optional). Each child and care giver will only receive one gift card. The cost for each gift card will be $20. When you checkout it will be $20 plus $2 fee for a total of $22 for each child selected/care giver. At checkout you can pay by credit/debit, or ACH (check routing number and account number—No PayPal). Also, you will have an option to select all siblings associated with the child you select. Note: you do not have to select all siblings. Additionally, you will be able to sort on girl or boy and the age range of the children you would like to select from.


NOTE: After you checkout; select Home; then close the website tab. You will receive an email of your transaction.

If you know of someone who is unable to participate online because they do not have a computer, laptop, tablet, iPad, smart phone, etc., or are not comfortable putting in personal information online, we have other ways for them to participate:

  • Have them ask a family member or friend to assist them by directing them to the John Wesley Website for directions OR

  • Contact Denise Fitzgerald for assistance OR

  • Send check or Money Order to the church and we will select child(ren) for them and make the payment online for them. Please make check payable to John Wesley UMC; on memo line put: 2020 Virtual Angel Tree; send to John Wesley UMC 3202 W. North Avenue Baltimore, MD 21216. Finally, contact Denise Fitzgerald to make your arrangements to select angels.


Peace and Blessings,

Denise Fitzgerald

Angel Tree Coordinator





Chair of the Church Council - LaChone Holley

Church Council Recording Secretary - Mikele Delmore

Lay Members to the Annual Conference - Ernest Clark & Celestine Clark

Lay Leaders - Ernest Clark & Celestine Clark

Chair of Trustees - Ernest Clark

Treasurer - Bernadette Baskerville

Chair of Staff-Parish Relations Committee - E. Betty Ransom

Chair of Finance - Asenath Brown

Finance Secretary - Sherriell Stanley

United Methodist Women President - Mikele Delmore

United Methodist Men President - Charles Jackson

Coordinators of Safe Sanctuary - LaChone Holley, Elizabeth Ransom

Coordinator of Children and Youth Ministries - Natiya Bennett

Coordinator of Senior Ministries (Wesleyites) - Angie McCullum

Coordinators of Young Adult Ministries - Shada Brown, Nia Govan

Nominations & Lay Leadership Development

Class of 2020 - Shannon Mack, Shawnta Brown Kenneth Moore

Class of 2021- Sierra Boddie, Mikele Delmore, Melinda Mack

Class of 2022 - Edward Alston. George Lewis, Jr, Aaron Fitzgerald

Staff-Parish Relations Committee

Class of 2020 - Stanley Boddie II, Elizabeth Ransom, Ernest Clark

Class of 2021- Shannon Mack, Barbara Jones, Charles Jackson

Class of 2022 - C. Michael Chriscoe, Michelle Hasty, Joshua Holley


Class of 2020 - Geneva Chase, Randolph Thomas, Kenneth Moore

Class of 2021- Stanley Boddie Sr, Georgette Talley, John Talley

Class of 2022 - Kirk Baskerville Sr, Ernest Clark Jr, Tyrome Myster 

Jr. Trustees-At-Large - Jaden Bishop

Finance Committee

Asenath Brown(Chair)

Landrus Stokes, Mikele Delmore, Denise Fitzgerald, LaChone Holley,

Elizabeth Ransom, Bernadette Baskerville

COUNTERS: Rosalind Salmond, Landrus Stokes, Beatrice Thomas-Ward 

Certified Lay Servants

Ernest Clark Jr.

Bryan Holley, Elizabeth Ransom, 

Radical Hospitality

Denise Fitzgerald & Donna Chriscoe Artis, Co-Coordinators

Armorbearers: Georgette & John Talley

Bereavement: Ella M. Lawson & Denise Taylor

Evangelism Evangelist: Ella M. Lawson

Greeters: Denise Taylor

Health & Wellness: Sheila Grier

Membership Secretary: Min. Sheryl Morsell

Stephen Ministry: Denise Taylor

Welcome Committee: Beatrice Thomas-Ward

HIV/Aids Ministry: Herbert Jackson

Celebrate Recovery: Mark Keene, Daphne Hurd


Passionate Worship

Celestine Clark, Coordinator

Acolytes: Rosalind Salmond

Altar Guild: 

Music Ministry: Randy Sellars

Communion Stewards: Steward Felicia Weeks

Flower Ministry: Beatrice Thomas-Ward

Liturgical Dance: Amy Owoeye & Georgette Talley

Mime Ministry: Ernest Clark & Georgette Talley

Youth Ushers: Sierra Boddie

United Ushers: Benjamin Smith, Thurston Butler, Lucille Smith, 

Rosalind Salmond, Kenneth Moore, Gloria kelly

Intentional Faith Development

Min. Sheryl Morsell & Melinda Mack, Co-Coordinators

Church School Superintendent: Natiya Bennett

Discipleship/Baptism/Confirmation Classes: Min. Sheryl Morsell

Bible Study: Rev. Joan E. Carter-Rimbach

Shepherd's Ministry: Tyrome Myster and Sandra Thomas

Children: Natiya Bennett

Youth: Natiya Bennett

Young Adults: Shada Brown, Nia Govan

Joshua Generation: Kenneth Moore

Wesleyites: Angie McCullum 

Prayer Ministry: Rev. Louise Holley

Steward Board: Tyrome Myster

United Methodist Women: Mikele Delmore

United Methodist Men: Charles Jackson Jr.


Risk-Taking Mission and Service

Daphne Hurd, Sheila Grier & Myra Stokes, Co-Coordinators

Power in the Hood: Denise Taylor, Sheila Grier

Angel Tree: Denise Fitzgerald

Church and Society: Mikele Delmore

Food Pantry: Sheila Grier

Girl Scouts: Carolyn HowardLocal Missions: Myra Stokes

Outreach Ministry: Sheila Grier

Sharing and Caring: Doris Duncan

Soup Kitchen: Camilla Williams, Randy Sellars

Volunteers in Mission (VIM): Ernest Clark, Jr.

Walbrook Vicinity Churches Assistance Ministry (WVCAM): Sheila Grier


Extravagant Generosity

Bernadette Baskerville & Asenath Brown, Co-Coordinators


Stewardship: Sandra Thomas

Scholarship: Carol White, Theresa Lewis, Brenda McKinley, Lorraine Clark-Terry